Posted on Wednesday, February 5th, 2020 at 8:41 pm
According to New York State law, reckless driving is defined as using a motor vehicle in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the proper use of the public roadways or endangers other drivers. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor and carries a $300 fine and 30 days in jail time for a first offense. The penalties of driving recklessly with a commercial driver’s license are even more severe and may result in the license being revoked.
But what exactly counts as reckless driving? What should you do if you were hurt because of someone else’s reckless driving? This article will give you the basic information you need to know about this New York traffic violation.
The following is a list of actions that may constitute reckless driving:
- Weaving in and out of lanes
- Speeding far above the limit
- Making a quick turn with no signal
- Abruptly braking with no reasonable cause
- Wrong-way driving down a one-way street
- Failing to stop or yield when prompted
- Distracted driving
- Road rage
- Racing other vehicles
- Attempting to evade police vehicles
- Driving without care for weather conditions
- Driving on the shoulder
- Making abrupt lane changes
If you are considering taking legal action because you were the victim of reckless driving, know that the state of New York has a statute of limitations of three years for injuries caused by car accidents. There are some variations to this rule, depending on when the accident happened and when your injury manifested, or if you end up filing a wrongful death suit. An attorney can clarify any questions you may have.
Contact a New York reckless driving lawyer
If you were injured because of someone’s reckless driving, you might be qualified to win compensation. Compensation could cover medical bills and other expenses associated with your injury. The legal team at Hach & Rose, LLP is ready to help you build and win your case. Call our office at (347) 318-9604 or reach out online to schedule your free consultation.