Posted on Monday, September 23rd, 2013 at 4:25 pm
It’s almost common knowledge that if you or a loved one has been seriously injured by a municipality or public authority, you may be able to sue. However, New York legislation may restrict your right to file a premise liability lawsuit if you don’t complete certain steps within a strict time limit.
According to current law, a Notice of Claim, which is simply a document submitted in writing explaining the accident and the basis for the lawsuit, must be filed within 90 days of the incident. If a Notice of Claim is not filed within 90 days of the incident, a victim may lose his or her right to sue completely, except in the case of a few limited exceptions.
You can learn more about these filing guidelines and time limits, here.
If you or a loved one has been injured on another person’s property in New York, please contact Hach & Rose, LLP, to ensure that your claim is not ignored due to technicalities. You may reach us for a free consultation at (212) 779-0057.